
Looking classy as ever trying to showcase their amazing talent...Heidi's lip syncing skills and Adriana's ...I don't even know what she can do. These two magazines came out at the same time by the way...basically competing on which Hills star was hotter.Why does my generation get so hooked on television shows like MTV’s The Hills and those other cheesy reality shows? This version of reality is clearly scripted and packaged as entertainment. Girls and boys, who watch shows like the Hills, look up to characters like Spencer Pratt, Lauren Conrad, and Heidi Montag for the wrong reasons. Do kids even understand that what they are watching may not be real? Sure these stars live a really cool, appealing life, but when we see this on TV and think its reality, they are creating unreal expectations on what our lives should be like. I rarely watch reality shows on MTV, but when I do, I somehow know the facade and how these shows are just trying to sell an image and advertise to their main audience of impressionable youth.
I just don’t understand how some of my friends are sucked into watching the Hills and spend their time watching what Lauren and Heidi are fighting about or what clubs they are going to or how they are spending their time in the California life. If this show wasn’t scripted, all the characters lives would be boring and similar to our own, and MTV would loose a huge audience. There is so much product placement and music advertising too that subconsciously the people who watch this show have planted images in their mind on what is cool and what they want to buy or want to be look like. Honestly, I really want to rant about how dumb these “celebrities” are, and how they market themselves and conduct their image, but when I thought about it more, maybe they are all smart business professionals who are making money from acting a certain way and playing along with MTV’s idea of entertainment.
What happened to the ideas of female empowerment? I have heard that the new female empowerment is how sexuality is conveyed now a days, and girl groups and music videos are making girls feel powerful. Haha. Really? Why should taking off your clothes and giving guys what they want and being a “tease” or being sexuality active, give young girls a good impression and look up to them. This whole manufactured Hollywood agenda is just creating false hope and dreams for little girls and boys looking up to their favourite stars and wishing they had what they had.
I was really became interested when I always saw celebrities going downhill and destroying their lives when they had everything. This is a sadistic way of looking at the screwed up lives of others, but it really makes you think, are they really happy with all this fame and money? They now have to live up to expectations of their fans and be able to produce the “best,” material for the business. This pressure may just lead to a breakdown.
These public lifestyles of the famous are creating a generation of unhappy, and unemotional detached youth. When you look on the outside of these shows they are just forms of entertainment, but when one delves deeper, you can see how carefully packaged and detailed they are to affect their audience. In my opinion, I would hate to waste my time watching these mindless pawns of MTV pretend that their lives are awesome and everyone should want to buy into what they are selling. I really think people should start asking questions about what they are watching on the boobtube and whether or not it is actually "reality." On a lighter note, I am going to just laugh how awesomely ridiculous Heidi Montag's "music" videos are and how her husband, Spencer was a director for one of them. Its brilliant, wow.
